Our network

Network subtitle

Board of Trustees
Michel Barnier
European Commissioner for Internal Market and Services (2010-2014) and European Commission lead Brexit negotiator
Mikolaj Dowgielewicz
European Investment Bank Representative to the EU institutions, and former Secretary of State for European Affairs and Economic Policy
Miroslav Lajčák
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Slovak Republic
Monica Frassoni
Co-President of the European Green Party, and Member of the European Parliament (1999-2009)
Pascal Lamy
Honorary President of Notre Europe - Jacques Delors Institute, and Director General of the World Trade Organisation (2005-2013)
Pat Cox
President of the European Parliament (2002-2004) and former Irish TV journalist
Paul Révay
European Director of the Trilateral Commission
Philip Lowe
Director General of the European Commission (2002-2014)
Robert Cox
Senior Advisor to the European Community Humanitarian Office (1993-1998) and former European Commission Representative to Turkey
Sony Kapoor
Managing Director of the think tank Re-Define
European Young Leaders
Mehdi Hasan
Broadcaster, Journalist and Presenter at Al Jazeera International
Michal Štencl
Founder & CEO of Sygic
Muna Duzdar
Secretary of State for Diversity, Public Service and Digitalisation
Myriam François
International News Correspondent for TRT World
Neza Kogovsek Salamon
Director of the Peace Institute
Owen Jones
Columnist for the Guardian
Ozan Yanar
Member of Parliament, Finland
Sebastien Pilard
Member of the Pays de la Loire Regional Council
Silvia Console Battilana
Co-Founder & CEO of Auctionomics
Virginia Raggi
Mayor of Rome
Authors and speakers
Carl Bildt
Swedish Minister for Foreign Affairs (2006-2014) and Swedish Prime Minister (1991-1994)

A renowned international diplomat, Carl Bildt has led the Swedish government that negotiated and signed Sweden’s accession to the European Union and modernized its welfare system. He later served as Swedish Foreign Minister and was one of the initiators of the EU’s Easter Partnership and of EU engagement in the Middle East. Most recently, Bildt chaired the Global Commission on Internet Governance that produced original researches and recommendations on topics such as the dark web, cybersecurity and internet freedom.

Carlos Moedas
European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation

Prior to his current position, Carlos Moedas worked for Goldman Sachs and the Deutsche Bank before establishing his own investment management company in 2008. In the midst of the European sovereign debt crisis, Moedas was appointed as lead coordinator of the Portuguese Social Democratic Party in the negotiations to set up the 2011 state budget and later became chief negotiator for Portugal’s economic and financial adjustment programme. European Commissioner since 2014, Moedas focuses on the promotion and implementation of Horizon 2020, the biggest EU Research and Innovation programme, aiming to make progress towards promoting international excellence in research and science in the EU.

Caroline Kawira
Food Security Expert at the African, Caribbean & Pacific Young Professionals Network (ACP YPN)

Caroline Kawira is the food security expert of the ACP YPN, which provides a platform for young professionals and diaspora from Africa, Caribbean and Pacific to play an active role in policymaking processes at the national, regional and international levels. She has extensive experience in the field of agriculture development, having worked at the International Potato Centre of Nairobi, a research institution creating sustainable, global solutions to solve world hunger and poverty, as well as at several other international humanitarian organisations. She studied in Kenya, where she is a registered member of the Nutritionists and Dieticians Institute, and in Belgium, where she graduated with a masters’ degree in Science in Nutrition and Rural Development from Ghent University.

Catharina Boehme
Chief Executive Officer at the Foundation for Innovative New Diagnostics

Leading the Foundation for Innovative New Diagnostics (FIND), Catharina Boehme oversees an organisation which enables the development and delivery of much-needed diagnostic tests for diseases of poverty. She also serves as co-Chair of the New Diagnostics Working Group of the Stop Tuberculosis (TB) Partnership, and is a member of the World Health Organisation (WHO) Strategic and Technical Advisory Group (STAG-TB). Before joining FIND in 2005, Boehme established a TB research unit at Mbeya Medical Research Program in Tanzania.

Catherine Gernay
Member of the Management Board and Director of Veolia Environnement and Cliniques de l’Europe
Cdr Jan-Peter Giesecke
Head of the Cyber Defence Team of the EU Military Staff (EUMS) within the EEAS
Cecilia Malmström
EU Commissioner for Trade

As Commissioner, Cecilia Malmström is responsible for pursuing an ambitious trade agenda to the benefit of European citizens, SMEs and the broader economy, and negotiating key bilateral trade agreements, including a comprehensive EU-China investment agreement. Prior to her career in the Commission, Malmström was Minister for EU Affairs in the Swedish government and has been a Member of the European Parliament Committee on Foreign Affairs, and on Constitutional Affairs.

Celestine Ketcha Courtes
President of the Network for Locally Elected Women of Africa (REFELA) and Mayor of Bangangté, Cameroon

Elected mayor of Bangangté in 2007, Celestine Ketcha Courtes’ great contribution to the development of the town was recognised by the United Nations in 2014, when she received the Public Service Award for a project aimed at providing drinking water to all inhabitants of the city and surrounding villages, improving the living conditions of more than 150,000 people. She is also a key advocate of women political engagement in Africa, currently serving as the President of the Network for Locally Elected Women of Africa, which brings together women elected in local government positions.

Charlotte Wolff-Bye
Vice-President Sustainability at Statoil
Chem Srey Oeun
2016 Young Southeast Asian Leader and Research Manager at Kantar TNS Cambodia

Chem Srey Oeun is a researcher at Kantar TNS Cambodia, one of the world’s leading data, insight and consultancy companies, where she has led work on young people, elections and democracy, gender and other social issues. She is the author of the report “Cambodian Millennial Trends”, which analyses the consumer habits of young Cambodians. She was nominated in the Young Southeast Asian Leaders Initiative (YSEALI) in 2016, the US programme to connect young leaders from ASEAN countries. Before joining Kantar TNS, she worked for Australian Volunteers International, a not-for-profit organisation promoting economic and social development across Asia and the Pacific.